Life Hacks List #1 – How to get over a break up

We’ve been there. Someone’s broken our hearts and we feel like it’s the end of the world. NOTE – This is not just exclusive to breakups! I’m going through a breakup at the minute and believe me when I saw that YOU WILL BE OKAY. I am proof of that. Here’s a list of things that will help you get through it like a boss and you’ll go back to slaying before you know it!

  1. OUT OF SIGHT, OUT OF MIND

So the breakup is fresh and you don’t quite know what to do. You’re heartbroken and yet signs of your boo are everywhere. Believe me when I say that the sooner you take those pictures down and put them out of your sight, the better you’ll be. It will be really hard to take them down or take that special necklace off, but it will show that you are starting to move on. I found it a lot easier personally to take the pictures of my ex down as soon as possible so I wasn’t constantly reminded of him. However, I didn’t throw them away. I didn’t delete. Why? Because they are memories of a time when I was truly happy and loving life.

2. IT’S OKAY TO CRY

HEAR ME WHEN I SAY THAT IT IS 100% OKAY TO CRY! I did! It often helps. You cared about them and it’s just ended. Of course you’re going to be upset. Just try not to cry too much. If the guy or girl is not worth your tears then allow tears but slowly tell yourself to stop. I can honestly say it helps.

3. YOUR FRIENDS WILL BE THERE

Unless your besties are jerks, they will be 100% there for you! I am so blessed to have the friends that I do. They’re all lovely. And they talked sense into me when I needed it most. If for some reason you don’t have people in your life like that, you can always leave a comment on here and I’ll give you the support that you need. My guy best friend (I swear he’s my twin from another life) asked me if I felt like the world was resting on my shoulders. I replied yes. He said, “Well then, you’re obviously strong enough because it’s still being held up.”

4. DO THE THINGS YOU LOVE AND CONVERT THE SADNESS AND ANGER INTO ENERGY

It’s really easy to turn sadness into anger, so convert that anger into energy and do the things you love. I love writing and sport, so I take all of that anger and take it out on a basketball or a shuttlecock. I happen to write really well when I’m angry or upset so I vent all of that frustration into my stories. I feel a lot better after a good match of badminton or a power walk. It’ll distract you and make you feel a lot better.

5. MUSIC IS ONE OF THE BEST THERAPIES

I love music. And after you’ve broken up it’s like going from Celine Dion to Lemonade REAL QUICK. Music has helped me cope whenever I’m on my own. PRO TIP – Don’t listen to songs that are sappy and will make you cry over your ex-bae even more. Instead listen to songs that make you feel empowered and ready to take on the world. My top 5 songs are:

  • Hollaback Girl – Gwen Stefani
  • The Greatest – Sia
  • 6 Inch – Beyoncé
  • Single Ladies – Beyoncé
  • Skyscraper – Demi Levato

These songs have helped me so much and have made me feel like a boss ass chick who can take on the world.

6. REMEMBER THAT YOU HAVE THE REST OF YOUR LIFE AND EVERYHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON

This for me has been a big help. I’m a firm believer that everything happens for a reason and it’s to make us stronger. You have the rest of your life to find the one you want to spend your life with. You’ll find someone so much better and someone worth your time. Remember that you are stronger than you think.

That’s what I have for today! Let me know if you would like a part 2 and please tell me if you think I missed anything off. If you are going through a breakup keep your chin up or the crown will slip. I’m here for you.

Love from, Little Darling Daydreamer xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Life Hacks List #1 – How to get over a break up

  1. GeminiGold16 says:

    I found his really inspiring. I have a feeling I know what you have gone through but it will get better. And if by any chance you see your ex gallivanting around with his new girlfriend. Just remind yourself, you did the best that you could to him and it’s his loss not yours.
    You go girl! You follow your dreams then see what your ex has to say bout it then.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

