Life Hacks List #3 – How to deal with drama

No matter how hard we try to avoid it, we always encounter drama, whether it’s in our friend circle, with boys or with your biggest enemy. Long story short – we have no escape! So we have to learn to deal with it! So block, block, snap, build, tower and LEGO!

  1. Keep calm – When encountered with drama, it’s a good idea to keep calm and not freak out. This is difficult but after deep breaths and taking a relaxed look at the situation, it is a lot easier. Also, if some idiot is causing the drama, they want you to freak out and go crazy. My advice, Smile – it really is the best revenge.
  2. Don’t talk smack – This ties in with my first point but whatever you do, DO NOT TALK CRAP ABOUT OTHER PEOPLE! It will all just come back to you in the end. Plus, it just makes you look crazy and irrational and again while it is hard to do and I’m not gonna lie, we’ve all been guilty of it at some point, so I know what I’m talking about. But you go through so much less if you’re not insulting, but professional and assertive instead.
  3. Exert that stress and anger into something else – A lot of people will use their anger negatively but I find it works to use that anger to give you energy and put it into something that will help you. For me, it is writing and sport. It can be anything that isn’t destructive that will only add to your problems.
  4. Forgive and be kind – This is one of the hardest things of dealing with drama, especially when someone has done you wrong. I personally can’t hold grudges as it makes me feel really shitty. But it will make you feel so much better when you’re being the bigger person and owning up for any crap you did and accepting responsibility but also being forgiving and respectful. For example, me and my ex had a nasty break up. But holding a grudge was driving me NUTS! So I messages him one night a few weeks later saying that I was sorry for saying some things that I hadn’t meant, and that I was happy for him and his new girlfriend. Was it hard? Extremely. But I felt like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders. We both indirectly showed each other that we were sorry and that we were forgiving each other, and now we’re starting fresh. It is so good sometimes to forgive people – even if you don’t want anything to do with them. It shows that you are strong enough to move on and not live in the past.
  5. Remember that it is okay to be like a glow stick – you have to break sometimes before you shine – I have learned this so much in the past two months and I can honestly say that I’m shining. It’s okay to be going through a bad patch, because a lot of the time it’s those times that make you stronger and push you to follow your dreams.

That’s all I have for today! If you think I missed any out please let me know!

Love from,

Little Darling Daydreamer xoxo

Leave a Reply

